Remember, Remember the 18th of December

Remember, remember
The 18th of December.
The cries of sisters,
The silent tears of the father.

Tears streaming, creeping
Down into the collar,
Soaking sleeves. Endlessly
Flowing, never ebbing.

He lay on the ground
Silent and still.
Glassy eyes peeking
A final look captured
of the world he was departing.

The mother falls, hysterical
and shouting.
Shrieking and screaming,
My Son, my Son.
I want to see my Son.

The wife refuses to believe.
Laughing, shaking her head,
Repeating, chanting
He is not gone,
He cannot be gone.

The baby cries, oblivious
And blissfully unaware.
Too many people at home,
Too many bodies.
Suffocating, surrounding,
Remembering a body at the morgue.

Clutching, grasping, holding on.
A cold face, ears stuffed with cotton.
A final goodbye too short,
Eyes still peeking, still glassy.

Forgive me, I forgive you.
Remember me, I will never forget you.
I am safe now, I wish you were still here.
It’s alright, I cannot accept this.

Letting go, moving on,
Calendar pages turning
But never ceasing to remember.
Always remember
The 18th of December.

6 Comments

  1. Hey Basmah, stumbled upon your blog. Lovely writing.

    My name is Alex, and I’m 20 years old and a student at the University of Michigan. I’m coming to LUMS in June and would be thrilled to connect with you.

    Please do shoot me an email @ alodell(at)umich(dot)edu

    Thanks so much!

    Alex

    Reply

  2. Forgive me, I forgive you.. Remember me, I will never forget you.. I am safe now, I wish you were still here.
    It’s alright, I cannot accept this..

    can’t say enough how much that feels.

    Reply

  3. AOA Basmah,

    You pour out your soul in this poem and I loved reading it. Please keep writing.

    Take care.
    Sadaf

    Reply

  4. Really moving & rekindled memories of a dear friend we miss so very much…..he lives on in our hearts & minds…..may Allah Almighty shower him with his blessings ……Ameen

    Reply

  5. salam alaikum

    Dear Basma,

    May Allah Almighty shower him with his blessings………..Ameen

    May god bless you,& your family and fulfils all your desire, each word of your poem touches the soul.

    Mashallah you are so brave & always pray to allah you be remain same forever.Ameen

    take care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

