A Blogger’s Gratitude

Quick note: The first half of my previous blog post was not intended towards any specific people or any one certain incident. It was an expression of my overall frustration and disdain regarding the prevalent attitude of gossip in Pakistan.

Its been a year since I started this blog, and in the past 12 months, this little virtual space of mine has been viewed over 2000 times.  It’s a small number when you do the math but, to me, it means the world.  It’s not statistics or quantity or a cost-benefit analysis, it’s my word-filled paradise.

I never imagined anything I wrote on here would ever be read by such a vast majority of people.  I never thought I would have ‘regular’ readers, or that this blog would ever be bookmarked on someone’s browser.  It just never seemed worthy enough.

Lately, I’ve had people say to me in university that they’ve read this blog and they like it or that they find it interesting.  I don’t really know how to respond to this, it’s flattering yet humbling at the same time.  I believe myself to be someone who lives to play with words and string them together, yet when anyone commneds me on my writing, I am left speechless, without any words to express my awe. 

I still don’t think the views I express here are very important or that my words could actually have any sort of real impact on those who take the time to read them.  I know I sound like a broken record because I’ve probably said this over 20 times that I never started this blog in order to become popular or widely-read.  It was for my own self, an outlet of sorts and an exercise that would help me develop the habit of writing regularly.  It’s been beneficial in both those aspects and more; its made me Google-able and distinguished me, it’s given me something to make me ME.

To all those who read this blog regularly, occasionally, or even just when they’re bored and want to kill time or have a laugh over my woes, to all those who have randomly stumbled across this page in their journey of surfing through the world-wide-web, to all those who have read my words, I thank you.

Leave a Reply

