Dissecting my fashion sense…as a baby

So I was looking through old pictures back when I was home and I realised something:  whoever dressed me had a hidden Rachel Zoe in them.  I was a cute baby (not modest about it either :P) and there were times when I looked like a fashion-savvy toddler but also many other times when I was dressed hideously in atrocities I can’t even define.  So in this post, I bring to you readers a couple of photographically captured moments from my childhood with a ruthless analysis of what I was made to wear.  Hit or miss, you decide.

all dolled up, but am i really loving it??

Ok so here I think I’m about 3 years old and the expression on my face is evidence enough of what I think about the outfit I was made to wear.  Not pleased, not at all.  There is just too much going on.  The sailor neck, the bow, the polka dots, the ruffled skirt, the red tights; they’re all really cute and chic individually but put them all together and you’ve got a veritable smorgasbord of what NOT to wear.  The baubles in my hair are distracting and it’s probably a good thing I can’t see the shoes that were put on me.  Take away the bow, the layered ruffles and the tights and you’d have a better, albeit simpler, outfit.  And simplicity is the ultimate sophistication but I guess whoever dressed me wasn’t too concerned with how urbane a 3 year old should look.  This, folks, is the reason why they say that pictures from the past do come back to haunt you.

Ok why do I look so grumpy in pictures?  Couldn’t someone have just told me to smile and actually look like a happy kid?  I suppose I was too preoccupied with thinking about eating the cake in front of me, and that also explains why I didn’t protest before I was dressed in this…creation.  I think I was about 4 or 5 here, not quite sure.  Let’s go from top to toe on this one:  now the side ponytail is normally very stylish and swanky and it might’ve worked here if didn’t have those things dangling from it, what are those anyways, ribbons or tentacles?  Thebangs are a nice touch, but sadly, they’ve been swept the wrong way.  I like the overall navy blue, white and red combo, its very sailor girl (what’s with the obsession with the navy?) but once again, the outfit is a bit too busy.  I like the lace but the sailor neck has got to go and the shade of red of the shoes isn’t quite the red that’s on the dress.  It’s just a slight difference in the tint but it’s the details that make the dress.  All in all, not a horrible effort.

Those are all the pictures I can bear to share for today.  I was a cute kid though, right?

p.s:  for reviews of ACTUAL runway shows and collections, http://www.thirdsmagazine.com is a good page to check out (I’ve even contributed a couple of reviews myself).  It may not be as commercial as style.com but we like it that way.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

