Vacation woes and Dubai Mall

I’ve only been on ‘vacation’ for 2 days and I already feel like a beached whale. Ugh.

I have oodles of things to do and yet I am being lazy and lethargic.

Things to do:

1) Read the first 300 pages of The Brothers Karamazov for Lit class

2) Read and decode the 30-page booklet on ‘How to Make Money Blogging’

3) Start doing my assignment on ‘What is piety?’ based on the works of Socrates, Viktor Frankls and Al-Ghazali

4) Raid the racks of H&M and shop, shop, shop for all my summer essentials

The last thing on the list is the only one I’ve made any headway on, obviously. Teehee.  I just resent the fact that I have to do university coursework in my week OFF from university.  Sigh.  But one must do what one has to do, and all the other cliches on necessity.

Dubai Mall, by the way, sucks balls (pardon my French).  It’s beyond HUGE, has over 1200 stores which is fine if you want to LIVE there but for one of those leisurely, therapeutic strolls, it’s not the place to go.  It takes about 10 mins just to figure out their map, another 10 to get to where you want to go because the stores are all so far away from each other  (H&M is at the exact opposite end of the mall from Bloomingdales).  It’s got a monstrous aquarium (which leaked last month and caused the mall to close!), a gold souk, an artificial waterfall, about 3 different type of arcade areas for kids, a luxury hotel attached to it and over 100 restaurants. 

I know it all sounds rather grand and heavenly but I didn’t like it much, it’s too big, has way too much and just all seems like a sham of a mall.  But then again shams are what Dubai excels in creating and selling.  Personally, I like my malls normal-sized.  Dubai Mall’s only redeeming qualities are that it boasts of a magical giant store called Candylicious which has, as the name suggests, every and any type of sweet thing imaginable and a Fashion Avenue thats lined up with stores I drool over and can only dream about even entering.  Alexander McQueen (RIP), Chanel, BCBGMaxAzria, Lanvin, Marc Jacobs, Valentino.  Sigh again.  And some cliche about turning dreams into reality.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

