Gushing over Grey’s

I just cried.  Not copiously, or anything, no loud, noisy, gasping-for-air kind of sobs, but rather a mute sniffling with big, fat tears rolling down my face while sighing deeply and smiling for no reason.  I just watched the latest episode of Grey’s Anatomy, also the 100th episode of the show (the AMAZING show to which I’m completely addicted, might I add), and it made me into a total basketcase.  It was like willingly diving into a whirlpool of emotions, and emerging from it with a heavy heart, soaked from head to toe with a mixture of everything you could ever feel, that you don’t know whether to laugh or cry.  Clearly, I chose the latter.

It was a beautiful episode, I could just go on about it.  From Christina’s forced reluctance towards Owen Hunt and his melancholy heart, to Callie’s frustration and Mer-Der’s surrender to a big churchy church wedding.  Who I loved today was George, the way he’s unable to cope with losing so many patients yet he still surges on, how he stepped in to lend Izzie a hand when she faltered on her way down the aisle.  I don’t know what to say about Izzie, okay, she’s dying, how sad, but she was getting a bit annoying lately, so she was surprisingly bearable today and she looked fab in the wedding dress! Denny, for whom I actually did weep copiously in Season 2, looked horrible today- what was with the black angel-of-death shirt (could you be any more obvious?) and the nasty old uncle hairstyle? Ick, how disappointing.  Last but not least, Alex Karev, oh how my heart beats for him!  He’s always been an underdog of sorts, the tough nut who’s a softie inside but won’t let anyone too close and puts up a mean attitude to keep people away, but today, it was all him!  “I think she might die on me,” he said, and weeped, and I just wanted to give him a big hug.  Of course the piece de resistance was what he said to Izzie at the altar, his wedding vows which took my own breath away and could possibly be even better than Burke’s.  Here they are:

“Today is the day my life begins.
All my life I’ve been just me, a smart math kid.
Today, I become a man,
Today, I become a husband
Today, I become accountable to someone other than myself
Today, I become accountable to you, to our future,
to all the possibilities that our marriage has to offer.
Together, no matter what happens, I’ll be ready, for anything, for everything.
To take on life, to take on love, to take on possibility and responsibility.
Today, our life begins…and I, for one, can’t wait.”

 

Awwwwww. *sniff* I’m such a girl.

Leave a Reply

